Pages Navigation Menu

Psyko Steve Presents 3rd Annual Phoenix Rock Lottery

Rock Lottery 2016, Phoenix Rock Lottery, Phoenix, Arizona, Phoenix music, Arizona music, Arizona musicians, Phoenix musicians, music blog, Crescent Ballroom, Psyko Steve Presents, Phoenix Rock Lottery

Phoenix Rock Lottery 2016: “25 Musicians Start the Day, 5 Bands Finish it”


On Jan. 16, 25 artists from Arizona acts will come together to form five new, one-day-only bands for the 3rd annual Phoenix Rock Lottery presented by Psyko Steve. The bands will then have the day to write and rehearse three new original songs and learn one cover song to perform live at Crescent Ballroom the same night.

“For the 3rd Rock Lottery there will be a entirely new ground of musicians, no musicians from the previous two lotteries were included. Although no musicians are return performers, many musicians selected are band mates with pervious Lottery Alumni,” says local promoter Stephen Chilton in a press release. “This year Jimmy Eat World’s Rick Burch will replace Jim Adkins and Zach Lind from last year’s group, Harper And the Moths member Chan Schulman will be replaced by drummer Nick Ramirez, and two-time lottery player Danny Torgersen of Captain Squeegee will be replaced by Squeegee drummer Matt Maloy, to name just a few.”

The full list of musicians performing at next year’s Phoenix Rock Lottery: Brandon Decker (decker.), Grace Rolland (Run Boy Run / Rising Sun Daughter), Rick Burch (Jimmy Eat World), Matt Maloy (Captain Squeegee), Jeff Taylor (Dent), Michael Krassner (Lowlands / Boxhead Ensemble / Califone), Sam Wiley (The Wiley Ones), Jackie Cruz (Man Hands / Jade Helm), Adam Bruce (Mergence), TJ Friga (Playboy Manbaby / Instructions), Brennan Smiley (The Technicolors), Chad Martin (Lost In The Sun / FauxFX), Matt Keller (Lydia / WLF PCK), Jared Kolesar (Jared And The Mill), Lonna Kelley (Cherie Cherie), Matthew Thornton (Vinyl Station), Greg Muller (Slow Moses), Nick Ramirez (Harper And The Moths), Lorne Mills (Iollowbodies), Evan Bisbee (Good Friends Great Enemies), Kristina Moore (Where Are All The Buffalo? / Foreign Language), Zach Vogt (Phoenix Afrobeat Orchestra / Yojimbo Billions), Ben Gallaty (Andrew Jackson Jihad), Charles Barth (Saddles) and Kristilyn Woods (Dry River Yacht Club).

Ballroom doors will open at 7 P.M. on Jan. 16 and the show starts at 8:30 P.M.. Tickets for the 21+ event are on sale now for $12. Proceeds from the Phoenix Rock Lottery will benefit Rosie’s House, an organization that helps underserved youth in Phoenix get a music education.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *